#INDvsNZ World Cup 2019 semi-final: New Zealand defeat India by 18 runs

3 Min Read

Sports Desk – The first semi-final of the ICC World Cup 2019 was played between India and New Zealand at Old Trafford, Manchester. New Zealand beat India by 18 runs in the semi-final to reach final of ICC World Cup 2019. India’s campaign came to an end after a heartbreaking defeat at the hands of the Black Caps, who became the first team to qualify for the final of the world cup.

  • Rain stopped play with New Zealand 211 for 5 in 46.1 overs . With the rain unrelenting, play has been called off for the day. New Zealand will resume their innings tomorrow at 10.30am on 211/5 with 3.5 overs to bat.

India got off to a poor start in the 240-run chase as the top-order succumbed under pressure against the likes of Trent Boult and Matt Henry, who wreaked havoc with the ball. Openers Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and captain Virat Kohli were all removed cheaply managing to score just one run apiece.

Rishabh Pant (32 off 56) and Hardik Pandya (32 off 62 balls) played two sensible knocks and added 47 runs for the 5th wicket. After the duo’s departure, it was a MS Dhoni-Ravindra Jadeja show at Old Trafford.Jadeja played a brilliant knock of 77 runs off 59 balls laced with four fours and four sixes while Dhoni scored a gritty 50 off 72 balls to take India close to the target with a 116-run stand for the seventh wicket.

- Advertisement -

However, Jadeja was dismissed in the 48th over, followed by Dhoni’s dismissal in the penultimate over which derailed India’s chase and brought New Zealand back into the game.

Playing XI- India vs New Zealand 

- Advertisement -

India: Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench : Kedar Jadhav, Mayank Agarwal, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

Bench : Tom Blundell, Colin Munro, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Also Read : CWC 2019- India vs New Zealand : Rivalry Stats and World Cup records

Also Read : Free India vs New Zealand match Live Steaming

By Shyam
Shyam Sharma who joined SPORTS BIG NEWS in 2021. Focuses on soccer – chiefly the Premier League, LaLiga, UEFA Champions League, Liga MX and MLS. On occasion, also covers American sports, general news and entertainment. Fascinated by the language of sport – particularly the under-appreciated art of translating cliché-speak.