CWC 2019 : England enter Final for the first time since 1992

By Raghu
2 Min Read

Sports Desk – The 2nd semi-final of the ICC World Cup 2019 was played between Australia and England at Old Edgbaston, Birmingham. England second semi-final won by 8 wikets.  England enter Final for the first time since 1992.

- Advertisement -

Toss : Australia won the toss and opt to bat

Australia Innings : Batting first, Australia started off slowly. kangaroo posted a 223 for 49 overs.

England Innings: In Reply, Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow led England to a memorable win. Roy and Jonny Bairstow laid the foundation of succesful first wicket partnership by piling as many as 124 runs on board before the latter was dismissed in the 18th over.

- Advertisement -

The Sunday’s final at the mecca of cricket (Lord’s) will be England’s first after the heart-breaking defeat in the 1992 world cup event at the hands of Pakistan.

Playing XI

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (c), Steven Smith, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon

Bench : Kane Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

Bench : Tom Curran, James Vince, Moeen Ali, Liam Dawson