Australia– ICC Cricket World Cup History

Australia Cricket Team
Australia Cricket Team
- Advertisement -

Cricket’s most successful team, Australia is always a favourite for any ICC tournament. they won the world cup 5 times which is the highest of any team. It is a world cup year and Australia has already won the ICC test mace in WTC and now they will look forward to their favourite ICC trophy in India in October and November. In this article, we will tell you about the history of Australia in the ICC cricket world cup.

Highest Total In Cricket World Cup

The highest total of the Australian team came against Afghanistan in the 2015 world cup at Perth. Australia made 417 in 50 overs against Afghanistan.

Most Run Scorer In CWC

Australia’s highest run scorer in World Cups is their former captain, Ricky Ponting who made 1743 runs in ODI world cups for Australia.

Who Is The Highest Individual Score

highest individual score by an Australian player came from David Warner’s bat in the 2015 world cup against Afghanistan at Perth where he made 178.

Highest Wicket-Taker

Australia’s highest wicket-taker in world cups is none other than one of the best bowlers in the history of the game, Glenn McGrath, who has 71 wickets in world cups.

- Advertisement -

Best Bowling Figures  

best bowling figure by an Australian player came from Glenn McGrath in the 2003 world cup against Namibia at Potchefstroom where McGrath took 7 wickets and gave only 15 runs in his 7 overs spell.

Who Is Played Most Matches?

Australia’s player with the most world cup matches was Ricky Ponting who played in 46 world cup matches for Australia.


out of 12 cricket world cup editions, Australia played 7 finals. They played there first in 1975, second in 1987, third in 1996, then three consecutive finals in 1999, 2003, and 2007. In 2015 also they played the final. Australia won 5 finals out of 7 in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.



Australia played in 8 semi-finals of the cricket world cups. They played semi-finals in 1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, and 2019.

Previous articleUEFA Euro U21: England U21 Defeated Spain U21 To Win The Tournament
Next articleTeam India – ICC Cricket World Cup History