BCCI approves 10 team IPL from 2022 edition

Dream11 IPL 2020 Awards List
Dream11 IPL 2022

10 teams to replace 8 in IPL 2022, BCCI AGM approves

Big news for the fans of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020. Now 2 more new teams are going to be seen in IPL. The governing body of the Board of Cricket Control (BCCI) in India ratified the entry of the two new teams during its Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday.

The BCCI has decided that from the year 2022, the IPL will be a tournament of 10 teams. Currently 8 teams participate in the IPL. First of all, there were speculations that only 2 teams can be increased from IPL 2021, but this year mega auction is also to be held, due to which 10 teams will be fed from 2022.

The ICC wants to include the T20 format in the 2028 Olympics.

- Advertisement -

The BCCI secretary and treasurer will also speak to the government on tax exemption to host the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021 and the 50-over World Cup in 2023.

Will Adani and Goenka buy new teams?
According to the news, Adani Group and Sanjeev Goenka will be ahead in the race to buy the IPL team. A team in the IPL may be from Ahmedabad, which the Adani Group has already expressed its intention to buy. Now the world’s largest cricket stadium has also been built in Ahmedabad.