Countries of the players in the playing 11 of USA and Canada

3 Min Read
USA and Canada

The first match of the ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2024 was played between hosts the United States of America and Canada on 2nd June in Grand Prairie Stadium. Playing 11 of both the countries was very interesting as the nationalities of the players in the playing 11 of both the teams were different. In this article, we will tell you more about it.

In T20 World Cup 2024, it is happening for the first time when we have 20 teams in the tournament. The United States of America is a co-host of the tournament, and their neighbour Canada is also part of the World Cup. Both the USA and Canada are in group A. They played the inaugural match of the tournament on 2nd June. One thing that grabbed the attention of the fans is the playing 11 of both the countries.

In USA’s playing 11 there were only three players who were originally born in the USA. The remaining 8 players were born in different countries. Although they are playing for the USA as official citizens of the nation. Corey Anderson who represented New Zealand in international cricket is now part of the USA team. He was a very well-known fast-bowling all-rounder of his time.

- Advertisement -

Here is the playing 11 of USA with their country as birth.

  1. Steven Taylor (USA)
  2. Monank Patel (India)
  3. Andries Gous (South Africa)
  4. Aaron Jones (USA)
  5. Corey Anderson (New Zealand)
  6. Nitish Kumar (Canada)
  7. Harmeet Singh (USA)
  8. Shadley van Schalkwyk (South Africa)
  9. Jasdeep Singh (USA)
  10. Saurabh Netravalkar (India)
  11. Ali Khan (Pakistan)

Similarly playing 11 of Canada also consists of players who were born in another country. There is not a single player in the team who was born in Canada. All 11 players were born in different countries. 4 out of 11 players in the Canadian team were born in India.

Also Read: Which is the best team in the T20 World Cup 2024

- Advertisement -

Here is the playing 11 of Canada with their country as birth.

  1. Aaron Johnson (Jamaica)
  2. Navneet Dhaliwal (India)
  3. Pargat Singh (India)
  4. Nicholas Kirton (Barbados)
  5. Shreyas Movva (India)
  6. Dilpreet Bajwa (India)
  7. Dilon Heyliger (Guyana)
  8. Saad Bin Zafar (Pakistan)
  9. Nikhil Dutta (Kuwait)
  10. Kaleem Sana (Pakistan)
  11. Jeremy Gordon (Guyana)
Anay Pareek joined Sports Big News in 2019. He is an avid cricket fan who finds deep joy in the intricacies of the game. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, he aims to incorporate the same level of accuracy in his writings. He predominantly covers the IPL, World Cup and cricket leagues.