Cricket returns for 2022 Commonwealth Games

4 Min Read
Cricket returns for 2022 Commonwealth Games

Yes, cricket will be a part of Birmingham Commonwealth games 2022 which will take place in Birmingham, England. ICC with Commonwealth games federation has announced the names of all 8 teams of women cricket which will take part in Commonwealth games 2022. Down below is all the information you need to know.

After Sri Lanka won the Commonwealth games qualifiers one week before in Kuala Lumpur, they became the eighth nation to participate in commonwealth games 2022 alongside India, Pakistan, South Africa, England, Australia, Barbados, and New Zealand. Cricket also became the first game to release a full list of its participants. 

Birmingham is a city in England that will host all the games of Commonwealth games 2022. Commonwealth games take place in every four years and it is celebrated as a festival to unite people and to enjoy sports.

- Advertisement -

Cricket in commonwealth games after 24 years

Cricket in commonwealth games is not new. Back in 1998 Shaun Pollock’s led South Africa team defeated Steve Waugh’s led Australian team for gold medal match but cricket is making its return after 24 years in commonwealth games in which 8 women international teams will fight for medals.

There will be 4500 athletes which will compete with each other for the glory at Birmingham from 28 July to 8 August this year and in numbers, there will be 72 countries that will be participating in this year’s commonwealth games.

Teams and groups

Teams that will participate in the cricket are India, Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Barbados, and recently included Sri Lanka who has won the qualifiers to confirm their position in eight.

- Advertisement -

Two groups will be divided in the league stage of the tournament in which Group A will consist of India, Pakistan, Australia, and Barbados. Whereas Group B will consist of England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and New Zealand. The tournament will be played in the T20 format and it will be India and Australia’s match which will start the game in the tournament. Bronze and Gold medal matches will take place on 7 August.

Authorities on cricket in Commonwealth games

ICC’s chief Geoff Allardice said “It’s good to have finalized the identity of the teams participating in the Commonwealth Games. We will have eight of the best teams competing for the gold and I am sure we will get to watch a highly competitive tournament” and also “The Commonwealth Games are an important part of the women’s calendar over the next year. It is a huge opportunity for us to take cricket beyond the traditional strongholds and give more people around the world the chance to enjoy the game”.

CGF president Dame Louise Martin said “Cricket is a sport synonymous with the Commonwealth. We are so excited to have it back in the Games for the first time since the men’s 50 over competition at Kuala Lumpur in 1998” and also “The debut of women’s T20 cricket will be a historic moment and a wonderful showcase of women’s sport across the world”.

Ankit is a driven content writer renowned for his meticulous attention to detail and captivating storytelling prowess. He is an avid cricket enthusiast, finding profound joy in the intricacies of the sport. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, Vishesh seeks to infuse his writing with the same level of precision.