El Clásico of IPL 2024 : MI vs CSK

2 Min Read

El Clásico is the name given to the football match between the two greatest football clubs, Barcelona, and Real Madrid. In IPL fans gave this name to match between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings which are the two most successful franchises in the history of the league. In this article, we will tell you why MI Vs CSK is known as El Clásico of IPL.

MI vs CSK Battle

  1. Most runs – for Mumbai Indians it is their former captain and opener Rohit Sharma who scored 5197 runs for Mumbai Indians in IPL. For Chennai, it is former Indian middle order left-handed opening batsman, Suresh Raina who scored 4687 runs for CSK.
  2. Most wickets – two of the highest wicket-takers in IPL’s history, Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka is the highest wicket-taker for Mumbai Indians. He took 170 wickets for the franchise. For CSK it is Dwayne Bravo who took 140 wickets for CSK. Both are now bowling coaches for the respected franchises.
  3. Most sixes – Kieron Pollard who is now the batting coach of Mumbai Indians hit the highest number of sixes for Mumbai Indians. He had 223 sixes for MI in his IPL career. For CSK it is none other than their captain and former captain, MS Dhoni who smashed 212 sixes.
  4. Most wins – two of the most successful captains in IPL’s history, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni registered the highest number of wins for Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings respectively. Rohit won 113 matches for MI and Dhoni won 133 matches for CSK.
  5. Most finals – between these two teams, CSK played in 10 finals. They won 5 out of them. Mumbai Indians played in 6 IPL finals where they won 5.
  6. Trophies – out of 17 IPL seasons 10 trophies lie between these two teams. Both Mumbai and Chennai have 5 IPL trophies in their cabinet.

Also Read: Rivalry Between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings

Anay Pareek joined Sports Big News in 2019. He is an avid cricket fan who finds deep joy in the intricacies of the game. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, he aims to incorporate the same level of accuracy in his writings. He predominantly covers the IPL, World Cup and cricket leagues.