ICC CWC 2019 IND vs PAK Match 22 : Virat army beat Pakistan by 89 runs

3 Min Read

Sports Desk – The 22nd match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between India and Pakistan will be played in Old Trafford, Manchester. Captain Virat army beat Pakistan by 89 runs (DLS). In this match, Pakistan won the toss and opt to bowl. A Rohit Sharma masterclass followed by sensational bowling performances from Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav and Hardik Pandya paved way for Virat Kohli and Co.

Starting slow and going all guns blazing when he found the rhythm to clear boundaries effortlessly, Rahul scored 57 off 78 balls to lay the foundation of a historic first wicket partnership with Rohit against Pakistan. Rohit Sharma registers 24th ODI hundred during marquee World Cup clash. This becomes Rohit’s second score in excess of 100 in the ongoing World Cup (his 3rd overall in World Cup history).

Virat Kohli continued his stellar run with the bat against Pakistan at the grandest stages of them all with a quick-fire knock to help India post a challenging total. Virat Kohli scored 77 runs. Kohli also became the fastest batsman to reach the 11,000 runs milestone in his 222nd innings.

- Advertisement -

India 7-0 Pakistan in World Cup cricket

History repeated itself as India dashed Pakistan’s hopes of registering an unprecedented win at world cricket’s biggest spectacle. While a staggering target of 337 runs turned out to be the highest total for the Men In Blue against bitter-rivals Pakistan, the Virat Kohli-led side also managed to register their biggest win over arch-rivals with a convincing 89-run (DLS method) triumph at Old Trafford.

- Advertisement -

Toss – Pakistan opt to bowl

Playing XI

Team India- Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench : Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Mohammed Shami

Pakistan – Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (c & wk), Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir

Bench : Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain


The tickets for the clash which will take place at the Old Trafford Stadium — which has a capacity of 20000 — were sold out within hours of the ticket window opening.

And now, those who have bought the tickets are earning more by re-selling them. A website, Viagogo, is now buying tickets from the fans and is reselling them for prices ranging from approximately Rs 20,000 to Rs 60,000. The highest ticket price is available in the Platinum category for Rs 62, 610 while the lowest is that in the Bronze category for Rs 20,171.


Ankit is a driven content writer renowned for his meticulous attention to detail and captivating storytelling prowess. He is an avid cricket enthusiast, finding profound joy in the intricacies of the sport. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, Vishesh seeks to infuse his writing with the same level of precision.