ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Match 8 : India beat South Africa by 6 Wicket

3 Min Read

Sports Desk – The 8th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is being played today between India and South Africa. The match will be played at The Kennington Oval in London. South Africa gave India a target of 228 runs. Faf du Plessis (c) scoring 38 and Andile Phehlukwayo 34 in their favour. Chris Morris helped power his side to the highest total of the tournament with an unbeaten 42 off 34 balls.

Chasing 228, India were off to a shaky start as they lost opener Shikhar Dhawan (8) and Kohli (18) early. However, riding on Rohit’s scintillating knock of 122 not-out, the Men in Blue emerged victorious to start their World Cup 2019 campaign on a thumping note.

Winning Star- Rohit Sharma and Yuzvendra Chahal were the Winning stars for Team India.

- Advertisement -
  • Rohit his 23rd ODI century off 128 deliveries laced by 12 fours and two maximums.
  • Jasprit Bumrah (10-1-35-2) bowled a scary opening spell while leggie Yuzvendra Chahal (10-0-51-4) displayed his guile in the middle overs, making them equal contributors in India’s victory.

Toss – South Africa captain Faf du Plessis flips the coin, South Africa win toss and elect to bat first

Playing XI –

Team India : Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

- Advertisement -

South Africa : Quinton de Kock(w), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis(c), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Jean-Paul Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi.

World Cup Rivalry Record

Both the teams have played four matches together in the World Cup. From which, India has won only one match and rest three are won by South Africa. The first match was played between them in 1992, in which RSA was won by 6 wickets. And the last match was played between them in 2015, which was won by India by 130 runs.

  • World Cup, 1992. South Africa won by 6 wickets.
  • World Cup, 1999. South Africa won by 4 wickets.
  • World Cup, 2011. South Africa won by 3 wickets.
  • World Cup, 2015. India won by 130 runs.

India and South Africa will face face-to-face on May 5. This will be South Africa’s third and India will be the first match. This match will be played in The Rose Bowl, Southampton.

Match timings and where to watch: The match starts at 3 pm IST. It will be broadcast live on StarSports network. Viewers can logon to Hotstar for all the live action.

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton.

Pitch report and conditions: A flat batting track is expected to be on offer at the Rose Bowl, Southampton. The weather reports predict cloudy skies with chances of intermittent showers.