ICC Events – India will compete with 16 countries, 8 trophies will be at stake

3 Min Read
ICC Events

17 countries, including India, Australia and England, have submitted their claim to the International Cricket Council (ICC) for hosting the World Cup, Champions Trophy, to be held during the next eight years from 2024 to 2031. According to the report, BCCI has decided to stake claim for hosting three global events last month.

The Indian board is not in favor of paying any hosting fee during the next cycle (FTP) starting from the year 2024. An important issue for the BCCI will also be the tax exemption, which it needs to get from its government to host any ICC event.

India will host three tournaments

The BCCI took this decision during its last meeting of the Apex Committee. BCCI has staked claim to host a Champions Trophy, T20 World Cup and ODI World Cup in the next round.

- Advertisement -

After increasing the number of tournaments in the next round, the ICC has started the process of identifying hosts for the men’s limited overs events to be held after 2023. The ICC said in a statement that the World Test Championship final, ICC Women’s and Under-19 tournaments will be hosted in a separate process in the new cycle that starts later this year.

ICC Chief Executive Officer Geoff Allardyce said: “We are delighted with the response from our members to hosting the ICC men’s limited overs events after 2023. This process will give us an opportunity to expand our range of hosts and increase interest in cricket, thereby making the game reach more fans and building a long-lasting legacy.”

ICC Events Schedule

In the next round, there is a provision for a total of eight ODI and T20 International tournaments for men. The ICC Board announced between 2024 to 2031 and there would be two ODI World Cup (2027, 2031), four T20 World Cup in the gap of two years (2024-30) and two ICC Champions Trophy (2025, 2029) editions. Members were invited to submit preliminary technical proposals as potential hosts. This included the option of countries to submit proposals for single and joint hosting.

- Advertisement -

The ICC has so far received hosting claims from Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Malaysia, Namibia, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, United Arab Emirates, USA and Zimbabwe. T20 World Cup, seen as a vehicle to grow the sport, will be a 55-match event played by 20 teams 2024 onwards, up from 16 teams.

The 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia will be in the current form. The ODI World Cup will expand to a 14-team 54-match event in the next rights cycle, after the 10-team 2023 edition in India. Champions Trophy will have eight teams.

By khushi
Khushi joined Sports Big News in 2022. She is an avid cricket and football lover who finds deep joy in the intricacies of the game. Through her keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, she aims to incorporate the same level of accuracy in her writing. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, Khushi seeks to infuse his writing with the same level of precision.