IPL 2020: Who will play the first match, when and where


Sports Desk – The 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on 19 September 2020. The first match of IPL 2020 will be played at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The opening match will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) and Delhi Capital (DC).

Speaking to IANS, a Delhi Capitals official said that ‘I have been told that the 2020 edition of the IPL will begin in Mumbai on March 29.’ Earlier, there were reports that the tournament would start from April 1.

The players from Australia, England, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand will not be able to participate in the opening matches. Because the last match of the T20 series to be played between Australia and New Zealand is to be played on 29 March.

- Advertisement -

The Test series between England and Sri Lanka will end on 31 March. On the other hand, the IPL Governing Council is in favor of getting maximum doubleheader this season as it believes that it will provide good viewing time to the viewers.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *