Jasprit Bumrah vs Shaheen Shah Afridi Statistical comparison in T20Is

2 Min Read
Jasprit Bumrah and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Jasprit Bumrah and Shaheen Shah Afridi are two of the most successful all-format bowlers in modern cricket. They both represent their country in all three formats. Bumrah and Afridi will be against each other on 9th June when India will play against Pakistan in the 2024 T20 World Cup. In this article, we will draw a statistical comparison between Jasprit Bumrah and Shaheen Shah Afridi in T20Is.

- Advertisement -
  • Matches – it is quite surprising but Shaheen Shah Afridi has played more matches than Jasprit Bumrah. Afridi played 64 T20Is while Bumrah played 62 in his career so far.
  • Runs conceded – even after playing two matches less than Afridi, Bumrah conceded fewer runs than Shaheen. Bumrah in his T20I career conceded only 1455 runs whereas Afridi conceded 1797 runs so far.
  • Wickets – in terms of wickets, Shaheen Shah Afridi is ahead of Jasprit Bumrah as Afridi has 88 wickets in his T20 career while Bumrah has 74.
  • Best bowling figure in a match – again Pakistan’s left-arm pacer is ahead of Bumrah in this stat. Afridi’s career-best bowling figure in T20 format is 4/22 while Bumrah’s is 3/11.
  • Average – even after taking more wickets than Bumrah, Shaheen Shah Afridi is behind Jasprit Bumrah in average. Afridi’s average in T20Is is 20.42 whereas Bumrah’s average is 19.66.
  • Economy – economy becomes a very important stat for a bowler in modern-day cricket. Bumrah is a world-class bowler, he knows how to restrict a batsman. Bumrah’s economy is 6.55 whereas Shaheen’s economy in T20Is is 7.72.
  • Strike rate – The bowling strike rate of Shaheen Shah Afridi in T20Is is 15.8 while Bumrah’s bowling strike rate in T20Is is 17.9.
Anay Pareek joined Sports Big News in 2019. He is an avid cricket fan who finds deep joy in the intricacies of the game. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, he aims to incorporate the same level of accuracy in his writings. He predominantly covers the IPL, World Cup and cricket leagues.