Not just KKR, but Shah Rukh Khan owns these 3 cricket teams

2 Min Read
Shah Rukh Khan | Credit : gqindia

Famous Indian actor, Shah Rukh Khan is a global star, his popularity is immense, and his fanbase is huge. In 2008 he bought an IPL-based franchise, Kolkata Knight Riders. He was a co-owner of the franchise. KKR won 2 titles and is considered one of the most successful franchises in the league. In this article, we will tell you about the other 3 teams owned by King of Bollywood, SRK.

In 2008 Shah Rukh Khan and Juhi Chawla’s husband, Jay Mehta bought Kolkata Knight Riders in approximately 626 crores. KKR emerged as champions in 2012 and 2014, the third most successful franchise in the league after Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Red Chillies Entertainment which is a company started by Gauri Khan, wife of SRK has ownership in the KKR franchise. KKR is not the only cricket team owned by SRK.

Here is the list of the other 3 cricket teams owned by SRK which are all part of Knight Riders cricket group.

- Advertisement -

#1 Trinbago Knight Riders

In 2015 Shah Rukh Khan acquired 50% stakes in the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel franchise. It was a team that plays in CPL which stands for Caribbean Premier League. SRK renamed it as TKR, Trinbago Knight Riders. In that same year, TKR emerged as champions of the league. In 2022 they also bought women’s TKR team.

#2 Abu Dhabi Knight Riders

- Advertisement -

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders is an Abu Dhabi-based cricket team that is part of Knight Riders Group which is owned by Shah Rukh Khan. The team competes in ILT20 which stands for International League T20.

#3 Los Angeles Knight Riders

To increase the popularity of cricket in the USA, a league named MLC, Major League Cricket was started in the USA. Los Angeles Knight Riders is the team owned by SRK that plays in MLC. The first edition of the league was played in 2023.

Anay Pareek joined Sports Big News in 2019. He is an avid cricket fan who finds deep joy in the intricacies of the game. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, he aims to incorporate the same level of accuracy in his writings. He predominantly covers the IPL, World Cup and cricket leagues.