2022 FIFA World Cup: Prize Money, Awards & Honors

4 Min Read
FIFA World Cup

Here we show you how much prize money the winner of the FIFA World Cup will get

The 2022 FIFA World Cup has given us a lots of incredible moments which we will never forget. But now we are in the final phase of the tournament and fans are getting excited about the final day of the campaign.

Argentina faced France in 2022 FIFA World Cup final and became the champions of the world in the end. Lionel Messi took that golden opportunity to win his career’s first and probably the only FIFA World Cup trophy.

- Advertisement -

You must be wondering about the prize money and the awards the teams were paid in the end. Well, let’s look at the rewards the teams and players got in the end of the tournament.

How much prize money did the top three teams of the tournament get?

  • Argentina: $42 million
  • France: $30 million
  • Croatia: $27 million
  • Morocco: $25 million
  • Quarter-Finalists: $17 million
  • Round-of-16 runner-ups: $13 million
  • Group Stage runner-ups: $9 million

Therefore, a total of $124 million was distributed among the top four teams of the tournament. That said, FIFA spent a whooping $163 million for organizing the tournament in Qatar.

What awards were given?

  • Golden Boot – Kylian Mbappe
  • Golden Ball – Leo Messi
  • Golden Glove – Emi Martinez
  • FIFA Young Player – Enzo Fernandez
  • FIFA Fair Play Trophy –
  • Goal of the Tournament –
  • Most Entertaining Team –

Golden Boot

This award is given to the top goalscorer of the tournament. Kylian Mbappe won the 2022 World Cup Golden Boot.

- Advertisement -

Golden Ball

This award is decided from a shortlist of players drawn up by the FIFA committee with the winners voted for by FIFA-accredited journalists at the tournament. This year, Messi became the first player to win two Golden Balls in World Cup history.

Golden Glove

This award is given to the best goalkeeper of the tournament, the goalie with the most clean sheets. Emiliano Martinez’s sensational performance in this tournament won him this title.

FIFA Young Player

This award is given to the best youngster of the tournament. Enzo Fernandez won this award for his brilliant performance in the 2022 World Cup.

FIFA Fair Play Trophy

This award will be given to the most disciplined team of the tournament. It will be decided by FIFA’s disciplinary team record based on an assessment of “exemplary fair play” at a World Cup.

Goal of the Tournament

This award will be given to the best goal of the tournament and Richarlison is the top candidate to win this after his sensational bicycle kick against Serbia.

Most Entertaining Team

This award will be given to the team that entertained the fans the most throughout the World Cup campaign. No team has won it more than once but France can become the first team to do so since they secured the award alongside winning the World Cup as hosts in 1998.

By Shyam
Shyam Sharma who joined SPORTS BIG NEWS in 2021. Focuses on soccer – chiefly the Premier League, LaLiga, UEFA Champions League, Liga MX and MLS. On occasion, also covers American sports, general news and entertainment. Fascinated by the language of sport – particularly the under-appreciated art of translating cliché-speak.