Each major country’s top scorer in Euro history

2 Min Read
UEFA Euro Championship

In this article, we will learn about each major country’s top scorer in the history of the European championship. We will also learn about the players who have scored at multiple Euro editions.

Not only is Harry Kane pursuing Alan Shearer for the Premier League scoring record, but the Newcastle icon is now trailing England in the European Championship goals scored.

Although Alvaro Morata has a respectable record for Spain at the international level, his six goals have not been enough to lead La Roja to victory in the Champions League, and Italy has struggled to produce a reliable goal scorer at competitions.

- Advertisement -

Two goals apiece from Matteo Pessina, Federico Chiesa, Lorenzo Insigne, Manuel Locatelli, and Ciro Immobile propelled them to victory at Euro 2020.

BelgiumRomelu Lukaku6
EnglandAlan Shearer7
NetherlandsRuud van Nistelrooy, Patrick Kluivert6
PortugalCristiano Ronaldo14
GermanyJurgen Klinsmann, Mario Gomez5
FranceMichel Platini9
ItalyMario Balotelli, Antonio Cassano3
SpainAlvaro Morata6

Players to score at multiple Euro editions

In the majority of Euro events, Ronaldo leads the scoring race. With other players stuck on three behind him, he has featured in five Euro finals and scored in each.

Also Read: 5 biggest controversies in UEFA Euro history

- Advertisement -

In 2020, Robert Lewandowski and Luka Modric both scored in their third Euro tournament, and other legends like Wayne Rooney, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, and Thierry Henry all demonstrated their enduring qualities.

PlayerCountryTournaments scored in
Cristiano RonaldoPortugal5 (2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020)
Nuno GomesPortugal3 (2000, 2004, 2008)
Thierry HenryFrance3 (2000, 2004, 2008)
Zlatan IbrahimovicSweden3 (2004, 2008, 2012)
Jurgen KlinsmannWest Germany/Germany3 (1988, 1992, 1996)
Robert LewandowskiPoland3 (2012, 2016, 2020)
Luka ModricCroatia3 (2008, 2016, 2020)
Helder PostigaPortugal3 (2004, 2008, 2012)
Wayne RooneyEngland3 (2004, 2012, 2016)
Vladimir SmicerCzech Republic3 (1996, 2000, 2004)
By Shyam
Shyam Sharma who joined SPORTS BIG NEWS in 2021. Focuses on soccer – chiefly the Premier League, LaLiga, UEFA Champions League, Liga MX and MLS. On occasion, also covers American sports, general news and entertainment. Fascinated by the language of sport – particularly the under-appreciated art of translating cliché-speak.