Ronaldo and Messi’s challenge to Lewandowski for Best Player

Robert Lewandowski is better than Ronaldo-Messi
Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski and Lionel Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski are in the finals of FIFA Best Player of the Year

Portugal’s star striker Cristiano Ronaldo, Argentina’s Lionel Messi and Poland’s Robert Lewandowski were shortlisted for the FIFA Best Men’s Player Award (FIFA Ballon d’Or). FIFA on Friday announced the names of all category finalists.

One of the 3 contenders shortlisted in all categories will be awarded. The virtual ceremony of the award ceremony will take place on 17 December. The award ceremony was earlier scheduled to be held in September, but had to be postponed due to Corona.

Lewandowski’s chances are more

- Advertisement -

Lewandowski, who won the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award this year, is considered a strong contender for the FIFA Award in the Men’s Player category. He made his club Bayern Munich champions in the 2019–20 Champions League. In addition, Lewandowski helped Bayern win the German League, German Cup and UEFA Super Cup.

Lewandowski equals Raul's UCL record, now only behind Messi and Ronaldo
Lewandowski equals Raul’s UCL record, now only behind Messi and Ronaldo

Lewandowski leads in goal and Messi Assist

Lewandowski, playing from Bayern Munich, scored 55 goals and 10 assists in 47 matches, including all leagues and cups in the 2019–20 season. At the same time, Ronaldo scored 37 goals and 7 assists in 46 matches while playing with Juventus. While Messi for Barcelona ​​has scored 31 goals and 27 assists in 44 matches in the 2019-20 season.

Robert Lewandowski is better than Ronaldo-Messi

Messi won a record 6 times Best Men’s Player Award

Messi won the Ballon d’Or Award for a record 6th time last year. Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019) won 6 and Ronaldo won (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017) 5 times in the last 12 years. The award was won by Luka Modric of Croatia and Real Madrid in 2018. If Lewandowski wins these awards, he will become the second player after Modrich to end Messi-Ronaldo’s dominance.

PlayerCountryTimes won
Lionel MessiArgentina6
Cristiano RonaldoPortugal5
Ronaldo NazarioBrazil3
Zinedine ZidaneFrance3

Messi and Repino received the award

The Best FIFA Football Awards were held on 23 September 2019. Leonal Messi of Argentina won the Best Men and United States Megan Repino won the Best Woman Footballer.

In 2019, these received the FIFA Awards :

Best FIFA Men’s PlayerLionel MessiArgentina
Best FIFA Women’s PlayerMegan RepinoeUnited States
Best FIFA Men’s GoalkeeperAlisonBrazil
Best FIFA Women’s GoalkeeperSari van VeenendaalNetherlands
Best FIFA Men’s CoachJürgen KloppLiverpool (Club)
Best FIFA Women’s CoachJill EllisUnited States
FIFA Fair Play AwardJill EllisLeeds United
FIFA Puskas AwardDanielHungary
FIFA Fan AwardSilvia GreccoBrazil