Top 10 greatest number 7 of all time

By Raghu
3 Min Read
Top 10 greatest number 7 of all time

These are some of the greatest number 7 of all time

- Advertisement -

The number 7 is an iconic jersey in football. It is often reserved for the most skillful player in a team. Let’s see some of the greatest player to have ever wore this number.

Top 10 greatest number 7 of all time:

1. Cristiano Ronaldo – Arguably the greatest player in football history, Ronaldo is the best number 7 of all time. He is the top goal scorer in football history. Except for two seasons, Ronaldo has always worn the number 7 jersey during his club career.

2. Garrincha – Garrincha played a key role in Brazil’s successful title defence in the 1962 FIFA World Cup. The Brazilian is arguably one of the finest dribblers of all time.

- Advertisement -

3. George Best – Best was renowned for his dribbling prowess, two-footedness and his ability to run in behind defenders. He was one of the best players never to have graced a major international tournament like the Euros or the FIFA World Cup.

Also Read: 5 times Cristiano Ronaldo lost his temper

4. Bastian Schweinsteiger – Schweinsteiger became synonymous with this jersey while playing for his national team. He never wore no.7 in his club career. The Germany international wore the number 31 during his 13 seasons with Bayern Munich, two with Manchester United and three with the Chicago Bulls in the MLS.

5. Luis Figo – Figo demonstrated his goal-scoring and goal-creating abilities, along with his set-piece prowess. Wearing the jersey for Barca, he won back-to-back league and Spanish Cup titles at the club.

6. Eric Cantona – The Frenchman endeared himself to the Leeds faithful. He inherited the number 7 jersey despite a listless outing with France at Euro’ 92.

7. David Beckham – Beckham was renowned for his crossing ability from the right wing and especially for his free kick prowess. He is one of the most iconic number 7s in the history of the game.

8. Kevin Keegan – Keegan wore the iconic number 7 jersey during his six-season stint at Anfield from 1971 to 1977. He is one of the most decorated players in the history of Liverpool.

Also Read: Why did Cristiano Ronaldo threw the chair on his teacher?

9. Franck Ribery – Ribery is only the second-ever foreigner to win Germany’s Player of the Year award. The Frenchman ended his Bayern stint with 23 titles – a record nine of them being Bundesliga triumphs.

10. Raul – The Spanish international is one of the most famous number 7s in the Real Madrid’s illustrious history. Raul left for Schalke in 2010 after winning six league trophies and three Champions League titles.