Winners and Runners-up of Men’s Hockey World Cup

Men’s Hockey World Cup
Men’s Hockey World Cup

The 15th edition of the FIH Men’s hockey world cup will begin on 13th January 2023 in Bhubaneswar, Odisha. 16 teams will participate in the mega event. Hockey was India’s most loved sport at the time but now they can revive that spirit and popularity of the game by winning the world cup at home. The hockey world cup takes place in every four years. in this article, we will see all the previous winners and runner-ups of the FIH Men’s Hockey world cup. 

  1. 1971 – the first edition of the world cup was in 1971 in Barcelona, Spain where Pakistan won the cup defeating hosts Spain in the Finals which makes Spain, the runner ups.
  2. 1973 – in 1973, the Netherlands host the cup and they won the cup at home, Runner ups of the tournament were India.
  3. 1975 – third edition held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia where it was an India Vs Pakistan final. India won the finals and became the world champion and Pakistan runner ups.
  4. 1978 – Argentina host the cup in 1978 where Pakistan won their second world cup defeating the Netherlands in the finals.
  5. 1982 – it was for the second consecutive time that Pakistan won the cup defeating West Germany in the finals in Bombay, India.
  6. 1986 – Australia grabbed the attention when they won the cup in 1986 in England defeating England at their home.
  7. 1990 – in 1990 it happened again when a host nation lost the final. This time it was Pakistan who lost against the Netherlands.
  8. 1994 – in 1994 Pakistan lifted their fourth hockey world cup title defeating the Netherlands in the finals in Australia.
  9. 1998 – Netherlands won the cup in 1998 defeating Spain in the finals.
  10. 2002 – Germany won the cup in 2002 where they defeated Australia in the finals.
  11. 2006 – in 2004 Germany defended their title in their own country where they defeated Australia again in the finals.
  12. 2010 – Australia took their revenge against Germany in 2010 when they defeat Germany in the finals in New Delhi, India.
  13. 2014 – Australia again won the cup in 2014 against the Netherlands in the finals.
  14. 2018 – Belgium won their first world cup in 2018 in Bhubaneshwar, India where they won the finals against the Netherlands.

Hockey World Cup Winner & Runners up List

Edition (hosts)WinnerRunners upThird place
1971 (Spain)PakistanSpainIndia
1973 (Netherlands)NetherlandsIndiaWest Germany
1975 (Malaysia)IndiaPakistanWest Germany
1978 (Argentina)PakistanNetherlandsAustralia
1982 (India)PakistanWest GermanyAustralia
1986 (England)NetherlandsEnglandWest Germany
1990 (Pakistan)NetherlandsPakistanAustralia
1994 (Australia)PakistanNetherlandsAustralia
1998 (Netherlands)NetherlandsSpainGermany
2002 (Malaysia)GermanyAustraliaNetherlands
2006 (Germany)GermanyAustraliaSpain
2010 (India)AustraliaGermanyNetherlands
2014 (Netherlands)AustraliaNetherlandsArgentina
2018 (India)BelgiumNetherlandsAustralia
2023 (India)TBDTBDTBD