4 Indian Cricketers Who Deserved Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

4 Indian cricketers who were deserving to get Khel Ratna
4 Indian cricketers who were deserving to get Khel Ratna
- Advertisement -

Sports Desk – The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest award given in sports in India. Indian team opener batsman Rohit Sharma has been awarded the Khel Ratna. The selection committee formed for the National Sports Award has announced the name of Hitman Rohit Sharma. Before Rohit, Sachin Tendulkar (1997–98), MS Dhoni (2007) and Virat Kohli (2018) have been awarded the Khel Ratna.

But some cricketers should have been conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award but haven’t made in the list.

Anil Kumble
Anil Kumble, who took over 900 wickets in international cricket, holds the record for taking all 10 wickets in a Test innings. It is unfortunate for Anil Kumble to take 619 wickets in Tests and 337 wickets in ODIs.

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly with a young team made India the joint champions in the 2002 Champions Trophy. After this, the next year also took India to the finals in the World Cup. During this time, he himself scored 3 centuries in this World Cup. Apart from the NatWest Trophy, things like defeating Australia in the Test series in India happened under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly.

Hardik Pandya’s six-pack abs will blow you away, see them

- Advertisement -

Ganguly has represented Team India in 311 ODIs and 113 Tests. He has scored over 11,000 runs in 50 over format, including 22 centuries. Ganguly was conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award in 1997 and Padma Shri in 2004. Well, for his excellence, he should have also been awarded the Rajiv Khel Ratna Award.

Mithali Raj
Mithali Raj is the name of the player who led the Indian women’s team to the ODI World Cup final twice. Under his captaincy in 2005 and 2017, the team got a chance to travel to the World Cup final. However, the team stayed away from winning the title both times. Mithali Raj is also the only batsman to score a double century in Test cricket. Apart from this, his average in both Test and ODI is above 50. The maximum number of matches in ODIs is 209 and maximum runs are also 6888 in Mithali Raj’s name. He should have got the Khel Ratna.

Rahul Dravid
Rahul Dravid, the wall of Indian cricket, has played the role of a troubleshooter for the team many times. Rahul Dravid, who scored more than ten thousand runs in both Test and ODI, was the highest run-scorer in the 1999 World Cup. Staying at the crease for a long time, he also saved many defeats for India apart from defeat. He should have got the Khel Ratna. He was not given the award despite the nomination twice.

Previous articleCPL 2020, 7th Match : St Lucia Zouks won by 10 runs
Next articleCPL 2020, 8th Match : Guyana Amazon Warriors won by 14 runs