ICC Men’s T20 team of the year 2021

ICC Men’s T20 team of the year 2021
ICC Men’s T20 team of the year 2021

ICC on 19 January announced the T20I team of the year 2021 which included every player who has performed brilliantly in t20 Is in 2021. Also, there is no Indian player in the team as according to ICC no Indian player was good enough to make his name to the team. Down below is all the information you need to know.

Jos Buttler of England and Mohammad Rizwan of Pakistan were selected as openers of the team as the England and Pakistan opener had a great year in T20Is. Mohammad Rizwan was the top scorer of 2021 in T20Is as the Pakistani Opener has 1326 runs in only 29 matches. Jos Buttler has 589 runs in 14 matches in 2021. Then for No.3, it is Babar Azam who got selected for No.3 and also for the captain.

Also Read: Top 5 cricketers who have their name registered in Guinness book of world records

Pakistani star Babar Azam enjoyed a great year with 939 runs in just 29 matches. For the middle order ICC selected Aiden Markram of South Africa, Mitchell Marsh of Australia, and David Miller of South Africa. Markram has 570 runs with an average of 43.84 in 2021. Marsh has 627 runs and 8 wickets and Miller has 377 runs with an average of 47.12.

ICC took 5 bowlers with 2 spinners and 3 pacers. The first spinner is Sri Lanka’s Wannindu Hasaranga who got 36 T20I wickets in 2021. The second spinner is Tabraiz Shamsi who was also on No.1 position in ICC T20I rankings of bowling. Shamsi of South Africa also got 36 wickets in T20Is in 2021. 

Also Read: Top 5 Fastest Centuries in ODIs

Now the three pacers that ICC has picked are Josh Hazlewood, Shaheen Afridi, and Mustafizur Rahman. Hazlewood of Australia has 23 wickets in 2021, Shaheen Afridi who had a brilliant year was also a successful bowler in T20Is as he got 23 wickets in the format. Last is Bangladeshi pacer Mustafizur Rahman who got 28 wickets in 2021 in T20Is.

Here is the team

  • Jos Buttler (Wicketkeeper)
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Babar Azam (Captain)
  • Aiden Markram
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • David Miller
  • Wannindu Hasaranga
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Mustafizur Rahman