ICC Men’s Test team of the year 2021

ICC Men’s Test team of the year 2021
ICC Men’s Test team of the year 2021
- Advertisement -

On 20th January 2022 ICC has announced the test team of the year 2021 of which three are Indians. Players selected in the team are those who performed brilliantly in tests in 2021. Williamson is named the captain of the test team. In this article, we will discuss the whole team and will give you all the information you need to know.

Sri Lankan opener Dimuth Karunaratne and India’s captain Rohit Sharma are featured as the openers of the ICC Men’s test team. Karunaratne scored 902 runs in 7 test matches he played in 2021. He also scored 4 centuries in 2021. Rohit Sharma who was the most successful batsman for India last year has 906 runs with two centuries against England. At three ICC got Marnus Labuschagne of Australia who had a great year in the test.

Also, he is now the No.1 ranked batsman in the test. Labuschagne has 526 test runs with an average of 65.75. At four it is England’s captain Joe Root who made his name as the England skipper had his best year in his career. Root has scored 1708 test runs in 15 matches with 6 centuries in it.

Now it is the captain Kane Williamson who has won the first WTC in 2021 also Kane as a batsman was good enough to make it on this list. Williamson has 395 runs in 4 matches. At six Fawad Alam of Pakistan made his name to the team as a Pakistani batsman who has scored 571 runs with 3 centuries in 2021.

The wicketkeeper of the team is none other than the most successful wicketkeeper in the test in 2021, Rishabh Pant of India who has 748 runs in 12 matches he played. He also has 39 dismissals in 23 innings as a wicketkeeper. Selected as the only spinner of the team it is Ravichandran Ashwin of India who made his name to the team.

- Advertisement -

Ashwin has 54 wickets in 9 matches in 2021. He also has 355 runs as a batter in 2021 with one century against England. Pacers of the ICC men’s test team are Kyle Jamieson of New Zealand, Shaheen Afridi of Pakistan, and Hasan Ali of Pakistan. Jamieson has 27 wickets in 5 matches, Afridi has 47 wickets in 9 matches and Hasan has 41 wickets in 9 matches.

Here is the team.

  • Dimuth Karunaratne
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Joe Root
  • Kane Williamson (Captain)
  • Fawad Alam
  • Rishabh Pant (Wicketkeeper)
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Kyle Jamieson
  • Hasan Ali
  • Shaheen Afridi
Previous articleTop 10 Clubs With Best Transfer Balance In 2021/22 Season
Next articleICC Men’s ODI team of the year 2021