IPL 2022: Best Playing 11 of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Best Playing 11 of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
Best Playing 11 of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) bought 22 players in the mega auction and they have made a full squad of 25 players now. They have also done quite impressive in the auction. Venkatesh Iyer, Varun Chakraborty, and Andre Russell were their three retentions and Shreyas Iyer was their most expensive buy-in IPL auction. In this article, we will see the best possible playing 11 of Kolkata Knight Riders after their auction.

Top order

  • Venkatesh Iyer – A left-handed opening batsman who can also bowl. Venkatesh Iyer was worth a retention for KKR. He has performed well for KKR last year. Iyer has played only 10 matches of IPL in which he has scored 370 runs.
  • Alex Hales – England’s former opening batsman finally made his comeback in IPL after years. Alex Hales has done well in T20 formats all around the globe in private leagues. He has only played 6 IPL matches in his career and scored 148 runs in them. Venkatesh Iyer and Alex Hales will be a good left-hand and right-hand combination for KKR.
  • Shreyas Iyer (captain) – at No.3 Shreyas Iyer is the perfect option. He is appointed as the captain of KKR. KKR bought him in 12.25 crore rupees and they were very clear when his name appeared in the auction. Iyer has amazing stats in IPL. He has scored 2376 runs in IPL in 87 matches.

Also Read: Watch IPL 2022 Live Streaming Free Online


  • Nitish Rana – Kolkata bought Nitish Rana back as they know they can’t find a better middle-order batsman like him. Nitish Rana can also open but his in our playing 11 No.4 is the perfect place for him. He has scored 1820 runs in 77 matches in IPL.
  • Sheldon Jackson (wicket-keeper) – he will be our wicket keeper of our playing 11. KKR bought him in the auction and he is an Indian uncapped player who can also bat in the middle order. He has scored 38 runs in 4 matches of IPL.
  • Andre Russell – at No.6 it is KKR’s biggest star, Andre Russell. Russell played many matches for KKR and he is famous for his power hitting. No.6 is the perfect position for him as he can finish the game from here easily. Russell can also give 2 to 3 overs in between. He has scored 1400 runs in IPL in 65 matches and he also took 55 wickets in his IPL career so far.
  • Sunil Narine – KKR’s very trustworthy player and whom KKR trust very much Sunil Narine will play at No.7 in the batting order. Although he is also a terrific opener, he can also finish the game so No 7 is perfect for him. Apart from his batting, it is his bowling that will be more useful as Sunil Narine is one of the best-limited overs spinners in the world. He has played 134 matches in IPL in which he has scored 954 runs and took 143 wickets.


  • Pat Cummins – KKR bought Cummins again in mega auction at almost half price from the previous season. Pat Cummins is a wonderful bowler who is now more of an all-rounder. He can give 4 overs and can play in the lower middle-order where he can contribute with the bat. He has played only 7 matches in IPL in which he took 9 wickets and scored 93 runs.
  • Shivam Mavi – Shivam Mavi is also one such player whom KKR trusts very much. They got him back in the mega auction. He is a fast bowler who has done well for KKR in previous seasons. He has 11 wickets in 9 IPL matches he played so far.
  • Varun Chakraborty – mystery spinner Varun Chakraborty came into the highlight in 2020 when he was first seen playing for KKR in IPL. Varun Chakraborty has done significantly well for KKR in the past two seasons which forced KKR to retain him in the first three retentions.
  • Umesh Yadav – in our playing 11 it is Umesh Yadav who will give company to Pay Cummins and Shivam Mavi in the fast-bowling department. Umesh Yadav is an experienced Indian bowler. KKR showed trust in his experience and they bought him. He has 119 wickets in 121 matches he has played in IPL so far.

Also Read: IPL 2022 : Kolkata Knight Riders full schedule & Squad

KKR Squad:

Pat Cummins, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Shreyas Iyer, Nitish Rana, Shivam Mavi, Sheldon Jackson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Dar, B Indrajith, Abhijeet Tomar, Pratham Singh, Ashok Sharma, Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Ramesh Kumar, Mohammad Nabi, Umesh Yadav, Aman Khan

Retained players: Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine