Teams who lost only finals of the T20 World Cup

2 Min Read
ICC Men's T20 World Cup

T20 World Cups are always very exciting and roller coaster rides. We have seen teams winning matches continuously and losing just one game to lose the trophy. In this article, we will tell you about teams who played the whole tournament brilliantly but lost just one game in the finals.

#1 Sri Lanka

In the 2009 T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka was undefeated till the finals. They won every group stage game of the tournament. Sri Lanka was defeated by Pakistan in the finals. It was a heartbreaking moment for Sri Lanka.

#2 Australia

Australia came very close to winning their first T20 World Cup title in 2010. They won 6 matches in a row but lost 7th game which was the final of the tournament. It was England who ended their streak and won their first major ICC World Cup.

- Advertisement -

#3 India

India in the 2014 T20 World Cup under the captaincy of MS Dhoni came very close to winning the T20 World Cup. India won 5 matches consecutively in that tournament but lost 6th game which was the final of the tournament. They lost against Sri Lanka in that match.

#4 South Africa

My heart goes out to South Africa as they came very close in the 2024 T20 World Cup. They were playing their first final of a World Cup but unfortunately, they lost that match to India. South Africa won 8 consecutive matches in the tournament but lost 9th match which was the final of the tournament.

Anay Pareek joined Sports Big News in 2019. He is an avid cricket fan who finds deep joy in the intricacies of the game. Through his keen observation and deep appreciation for cricket, he aims to incorporate the same level of accuracy in his writings. He predominantly covers the IPL, World Cup and cricket leagues.