Eric Cantona inducted in Premier League Hall of Fame

Eric Cantona
Eric Cantona

Eric Cantona became the third legend to be inducted in Premier League Hall of Fame

Former Manchester United legend Eric Cantona became the third player after Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry to be inducted in Premier League Hall of Fame.

Cantona scored 70 goals in 156 PL appearances for Man Utd, where he won the league title four times in five seasons at Old Trafford before his retirement in May 1997.

“I am very happy and very proud and at the same time, I am not surprised!” said 54-year-old Cantona, who described himself as the “exception” among the shortlist of nominees.

“Of course, to play in England was a dream. It is a dream of everybody to play in the Premier League.

Eric was one of the players who helped Sir Alex Ferguson’s team to end their 26-year league title drought following his move from Leeds United early in the competition’s inaugural 1992/93 season.

Also Read: Henry names his six greatest PL Hall of Fame legends

“I have been lucky to play in this [Manchester United] team with wonderful players, a wonderful manager and wonderful fans.

“It was the football I dreamt about because Manchester United is a club where they want to win things but in a good way. It was like this in the time of Matt Busby. This is the identity of this club, the philosophy of this club.”

Man Utd’s all time top scorer Alan Shearer and Arsenal’s greatest Theirry Henry were the first players to be given the honour.

The candidates are now down to a 22-men shortlist.

Nominees for the next six Hall of Fame inductees?

  1. Tony Adams
  2. David Beckham
  3. Dennis Bergkamp
  4. Sol Campbell
  5. Andrew Cole
  6. Ashley Cole
  7. Didier Drogba
  8. Les Ferdinand
  9. Rio Ferdinand
  10. Robbie Fowler
  11. Steven Gerrard
  12. Roy Keane
  13. Frank Lampard
  14. Matt Le Tissier
  15. Michael Owen
  16. Peter Schmeichel
  17. Paul Scholes
  18. John Terry
  19. Robin van Persie
  20. Nemanja Vidic
  21. Patrick Viera
  22. Ian Wright.